MIT Corporation

The Institute's board of trustees is known as the Corporation. Its membership includes approximately 73 distinguished leaders in engineering, science, industry, education, and other professions, and (ex officio) the Chairman of the Corporation, the President, the Executive Vice President and Treasurer, the Secretary of the Corporation, the CEO of the Alumni Association, and three representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The Corporation also includes 34 emeritus life members. Approximately 70% of Corporation members are MIT alumni.

Between quarterly meetings, the Corporation functions through its officers and executive committee. The Corporation appoints visiting committees for each academic department and for certain other major activities at the Institute. These committees, whose members are leaders in their respective professions, make recommendations to the Institute administration and the Corporation concerning departmental activities and, in turn, provide counsel to the departments.

Academic and Administrative Organization

The Institute's chief executive officer is the president. Senior academic and administrative officers include the provost; chancellor; executive vice president and treasurer; vice president and secretary of the Corporation; associate provosts, deans of the schools and college; vice chancellor; vice presidents; chancellor for academic advancement; director of libraries; CEO of the MIT Alumni Association; and Institute community and equity officer. For a detailed view of the Institute's organizational structure, see the MIT Organization Chart.

MIT's academic departments and institutes—each under the leadership of a head or director—are organized within five schools and one college. In addition, numerous interdisciplinary laboratories and centers have been organized to facilitate research in fields that extend across traditional boundaries; administration of each laboratory or center is the responsibility of the faculty member who serves as its director. Research projects sponsored by government, industry, or foundations are administered through the Office of Sponsored Programs.

Educational policy for the Institute is determined by the MIT Faculty (as defined by the Rules and Regulations of the Faculty). The Faculty meets monthly during the academic year and conducts much of its business through a number of elected standing committees. The Faculty Policy Committee (FPC), which includes student members, maintains a broad overview of the Institute's academic programs, deals with a wide range of policy issues of concern to the Faculty, and coordinates the work of the Faculty committees. The chair of the Faculty chairs the FPC.